Pacific Websites


ONLINE JOURNALS & NEWS SOURCES

 

(A) ONLINE JOURNALS

American Anthropologist. Journal of AAA, membership subscription or pay-per-article. http://www.aaanet.org/aa/

American Ethnologist. Journal of Am. Ethnological Soc., membership subscription or pay-per-article. Reviews & abstracts free. http://www.music.columbia.edu/%7Ececenter/AES/amereth.html

Anthroglobe Journal. Cyril Belshaw-initiated online journal, free articles news etc. http://www.anthroglobe.ca/

Anthropoetics Online journal of Generative Anthropology from UCLA, many full-text articles, free access. http://www.humnet.ucla.edu/humnet/anthropoetics/home.html

Anthropological Forum (online papers downloadable) http://www.anthropologicalforum.net/open-access-papers

Anthropology Matters Journal (online) http://www.anthropologymatters.com/journal/

Anthropology Now online and print journal http://anthronow.com

Antiquity magazine. Subscription online access way back to 1927. Book reviews free. http://antiquity.ac.uk/

ASAonline (ASA online publication series to be launched in 2008) http://www.theasa.org/publications/asaonline.htm

Asian & Pacific Studies Electronic Journals (huge list of links to online journals)   http://www.ciolek.com/WWWVLPages/AsiaPages/AsianE-Journals.html

Atoll Reseach Bulletin (Smithsonian Institution, 1951-present) http://www.botany.hawaii.edu/faculty/duffy/atoll.htm OR http://www.sil.si.edu/digitalcollections/atollresearchbulletin/ARB_About.cfm

Bulletin of Information on Computing in Anthropology. Good full-text articles, free access. http://lucy.ukc.ac.uk/bicaindex.html

Common-Place. Excellent online full-text articles on a variety of subjects, including the Pacific. American Antiquarian Soc & Florida State U. http://www.common-place.org/

Pacific Routes - Special Pacific Edition of Common-Place http://www.common-place.org/vol-05/no-02/pacific-flash.swf

Culture, Society and Masculinities [COMING Spring 2009] Peer-reviewed journal http://www.mensstudies.info/CSM.html

Directions: Journal of Education Studies http://www.directions.usp.ac.fj/

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals http://www.doaj.org/

Early New Zealand Books online http://www.enzb.auckland.ac.nz/index.php

Electronic Journals: A Selected Resource Guide by Katharina Klemperer http://www.harrassowitz.de/ms/ejresguide.html

Ethnologies Comparées - French language online Anthropology Journal: http://alor.univ-montp3.fr/cerce/revue.htm

Ex-Kiap publications online http://www.exkiap.net/articles/

Expedition (Journal of Penn Museum) http://www.penn.museum/sites/expedition/

Fijian Studies: A Journal of Contemporary Fiji   http://www.fijianstudies.org/

Footsteps (Australians for Reconciliation newsletter) http://www.reconciliation.org.au

HAU-Journal of Ethnographic Theory (new Dec 2011) http://www.haujournal.org/index.php/

Hawaii-Pacific journal index http://xwww2.hawaii.edu/uhlib2/

History of the English Church Mission in New Guinea (1891-1912)   http://anglicanhistory.org/aus/png/chignell/index.html

Index of Hawai'i & Pacific journals (Coverage for certain titles goes back to the 19th century) http://hpji.lib.hawaii.edu/HPJITitles.htm

INDEX of scholarly online journals http://www.wam.umd.edu/~mlhall/magazines.html#scholarly

International Journal for Dialogical Science Peer-reviewed, open, international, and interdisciplinary electronic journal www.dialogical.org

Internet Archaeology. Fully refereed online journal. http://intarch.ac.uk/index.html

Intersections: Gender and Sexuality in Asia and the Pacific (from A.N.U.) http://www.intersections.anu.edu.au

Invisible Culture (electronic journal for Visual Culture) http://www.rochester.edu/in_visible_culture/Issues-IVC.html

Islands Business http://www.islandsbusiness.com/

Journal of the Polynesian Society (keyword-searchable, full-text access to vols.1-100, 1892-1992) http://www.jps.auckland.ac.nz/index.php

Index only of JPS 2000-2007 http://www.arts.auckland.ac.nz/departments/index.cfm?P=9148

Journal of Samoan Studies http://journal.samoanstudies.ws/

Journal of World Anthropology http://wings.buffalo.edu/research/anthrogis/JWA/

Journal of World Systems Research. Free electronic journal of Institute for Research on World-Systems, UCRiverside. http://jwsr.ucr.edu/index.php

Land management publications  (USP) http://www.usp.ac.fj/landmgmt/publications.htm

Language Documentation & Conservation (fully refereed, open-access journal of linguistics from UHP) http://www.nflrc.hawaii.edu/ldc/

Le Monde Diplomatique (English edition) (very stimulating articles by internationally renowned thinkers and writers) http://mondediplo.com/

Melbourne Journal of International Law (contains Pacific items) http://www.law.unimelb.edu.au/mjil

Micronesian Journal of the Humanities and Social Sciences http://micronesia.csu.edu.au/MJHSS

Minpaku Anthropology Newsletter http://www.minpaku.ac.jp/english/research/activity/publication/periodical/newsletter

Museum Anthropology Review (open-access peer-reviewed journal of museum & material culture studies) http://scholarworks.iu.edu/journals/index.php/mar/index

Pacific Currents (Online Journal of AAAPS - the Australian Association for the Advancement of Pacific Studies). Issue 1.1 http://www.aaaps.edu.au/sites/hydrogen.rcs.griffith.edu.au.aaaps/userfiles/PC1_1sssbws.pdf Issue 1.2 - 2.1 http://intersections.anu.edu.au/pacificurrents/contents1-2_2-1.htm

Pacific Dynamics (Online open access journal published by the Macmillan Brown Centre for Pacific Studies) http://pacificdynamics.nz/

Pacific Economic Bulletin http://peb.anu.edu.au

Pacific Health Dialog (Journal of Community Health and Clinical Medicine for the Pacific) http://pacifichealthdialog.org.fj/

Pacific Health Voices (electronic health journal at the Fiji School of Medicine) http://www.pacifichealthvoices.org/

Pacific History Journal Bibliography Database http://coombs.anu.edu.au/WWWVLPacific/Pac-Jrnl-Bibliography.html

Pacific Islands Monthly http://nla.gov.au/nla.obj-310385031

Pacific Islands Report http://pidp.eastwestcenter.org/PIReport/

Pacific Magazine http://www.pacificislands.cc/

Pacific Media Centre http:www.pmc.aut.ac.nz PMC on YouTube https://www.youtube.com/user/pacmedcentre

Pacific media research index http://www.pmc.aut.ac.nz/research

Pacific Journalism Review (research journal) http://www.pjreview.info

Pacific Journalism Monographs http://www.pmc.aut.ac.nz/publications/pacific-journalism-monographs-no-4-twentieth-anniversary-pacific-journalism-review

Pacific Media Watch (monitoring service @ AUT University) http://www.pacmediawatch.aut.ac.nz

Paideusis Peer-reviewed Canadian academic journal 1987-2001 concerned with all topics, subjects, issues, and problems in education. http://www.csse.ca/CAFE/CPES/english/paideusis/

PNG Medical Journal Online http://www.pngimr.org.pg/png_medical_journals.htm

Polynesian Society Journal Online (the first 100 years) http://www.jps.auckland.ac.nz/browse.php

Portal Journal of Multidisciplinary International Studies http://epress.lib.uts.edu.au/journals/index.php/portal

Rapa Nui Journal  http://www.islandheritage.org/rnj.htmlRSPAS Print News E-journal (ISSN 1440-9127) (Australian national University). http://coombs.anu.edu.au/rspas-print-news.htm EMAIL: mailto:rspas-print-news@coombs.anu.edu.au

Savage Minds (Pacific). Anthropology weblog http://savageminds.org/category/regions/pacific/

South Pacific Journal of Psychology http://hiplab.newcastle.edu.au/pacific

The Asia Pacific Journal of Anthropology (formerly Canberra Anthropology)  http://rspas.anu.edu.au/anthropology/tapja/

Tribal Arts Online http://www.tribalarts.com/

Tuhinga: Research Journal of Te Papa Tongarewa museum of NZ https://www.tepapa.govt.nz/learn/research/research-publications/tuhinga-our-research-journal

UNESCO online full-text journals (anthropology, sociology etc)   http://www.unesco.org/shs/shsdc/journals/shsjournals.html

United Nations Official Finder page http://www.unsystem.org/

University of Auckland Digital Collections Online http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/digitalcollections/

World Heritage Newsletter (UNESCO) http://whc.unesco.org/news/index-en.htm


(B) ONLINE NEWS SOURCES & BLOGS

ABC (Australia) Asia-Pacific News http://www.abc.net.au/asiapacific/pacific.htm

ABC (Australia) Pacific Beat (Radio Australia online audio and transcripts. Excellent site) http://www.radioaustralia.net.au/pacbeat/

Australian National Library online newspaper resource http://ndpbeta.nla.gov.au/ndp/del/home

CocoNet Wireless Pacific news and information  http://www.uq.edu.au/coconet/

Contemporary Pacific (University of Hawai'i Press)  http://www.uhpress.hawaii.edu/journals/cp/

David Robie’s Café Pacific http://cafepacific.blogspot.co.nz/

EMTV (PNG television site including newsclips) http://www.emtvpng.com/news

Envirosociety (Multimedia blog on contemporary socio-ecological issues) http://www.envirosociety.org/the-journal/

Fantom (Phantom comic in Pidgin). Some episodes in Wantok Archive. http://wantokniuspepa.com/index.php/archives/wantok-niuspepa

Fiji Sites: http://www.justpacific.com/fiji/websites html

Global Islands Network  http://www.globalislands.net/

Guam Pacific Daily News  http://www.guampdn.com/

Guam News 8  http://www.kuam.com

Honolulu Advertiser http://www.honoluluadvertiser.com/apps/pbcs.dll/frontpage

Honolulu Star-Bulletin http://starbulletin.com/

Kanaky Online (New Caledonia) http://altern.org/kanaky/

Macleay Museum News (Sydney University) http://www.usyd.edu.au/su/macleay/bnewslet.htm#newletissues

Marianas News (Northern Marianas) http://www.topix.net/world/northern-mariana-islands

Marianas Variety (Northern Marianas) http://www.mvariety.com

The Marshall Islands Journal http://www.marshallislandsjournal.com/

Matangi Tonga Online http://www.matangitonga.to/article/global_index.shtml

Melanesia News (West Papua) http://www.melanesianews.org

Oceania Newsletter (CPAS, Nijmegen University, Netherlands)  http://www.kun.nl/cps/#index

Online Newspapers http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/

Pacific Affairs http://www.interchange.ubc.ca/pacifaff/

Pacific Islands News http://www.pacificislandsnews.com/

Pacific Journalism Online (University of the South Pacific media resource site, based in Fiji):  http://www.usp.ac.fj/journ/

Pacific Journalism Review  http://www.asiapac.org.fj/PJR/

Pacific Magazine with Islands Business  http://www.pacificislands.cc/

Pacific Magazine Daily News http://www.pacificmagazine.net/

Pacific Media Centre http:www.pmc.aut.ac.nz PMC on YouTube https://www.youtube.com/user/pacmedcentre

Pacific media research index http://www.pmc.aut.ac.nz/research

Pacific Journalism Monographs http://www.pmc.aut.ac.nz/publications/pacific-journalism-monographs-no-4-twentieth-anniversary-pacific-journalism-review

Pacific Media Watch (monitoring service @ AUT University) http://www.pacmediawatch.aut.ac.nz

Pacific News from Manoa (Newsletter of the Center for Pacific Islands Studies, University of Hawai'i at Manoa) http://www.hawaii.edu/cpis/Newsletter.htm#fpa

Pacific newspapers by country: http://www.abyznewslinks.com/pacif.htm

Pacific People's Partnership http://www.pacificpeoplespartnership.org/

Pacific Scoop (NZ-based blog-style website) http://pacific.scoop.co.nz/

Pacific Studies WWW Virtual Library   http://coombs.anu.edu.au/WWWVL-PacificStudies.html

Pacific Weekly Review (out of Vanuatu, but Pacific-wide items) http://www.thepacificweekly.com

Papua Post online (West Papua: in Bahasa, click for English version) http://www.papuapost.com

Papua Press Agency (West Papua: in Bahasa and English) http://www.westpapua.net

Papua Niugini Nius http://www.pactok.net/docs/nius/

Pasifik Nius daily Pacific news digest http://www.usp.ac.fj/journ/nius/index.html

PNG Times http://www.pngtimes.com/

Polynesia Life (News site) http://www.polynesialife.com/

Post-Courier (PNG) http://www.postcourier.com.pg/

Radio New Zealand International (RNZI) News http://www.rnzi.com/

Rapa Nui Journal (Easter Island) http://www.islandheritage.org/rnj.html

Saipan Sucks http://www.saipansucks.com

Saipan Tribune http://www.saipantribune.com/

Samoa Live News http://www.samoalivenews.com/

Samoa News (American Samoa's daily newspaper) http://samoanews.com/

Samoa Observer http://www.samoaobserver.ws/

Samoa Online (provides news from both Samoas, and also has information about Samoan culture, history, tourism etc.) http://www.wsamoa.ws/

Solomons Star http://www.solomonstarnews.com/

Tahiti Pacifique (French language monthly) http://www.tahitiweb.com/f/info

Tahiti Press http://www.tahitipresse.pf/

The Independent Online (PNG) http://www.tiare.net.pg/wordpub/independent/provincial.htm

The National (PNG)  http://www.wr.com.au:80/national/

The Post Courier http://202.1.56.50/postcour/postcour.nsf

Tongan information & news site  http://www.planet-tonga.com/

Topix.net World News (Excellent site, regularly updated, sifting news stories from multiple stories about most countries) http://www.topix.net/world/.......[insert country name]

University of Hawai'i Pacific Collection News Sources http://libweb.hawaii.edu/libdept/pacific/html/news.html#news

Wansalwara Online (USP Journalism Dept training website) http://www.usp.ac.fj/journ/docs/news/index.html

West Papua News Online (English language) http://www.westpapuanews.com

 


  Contact me